top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Spratt

June 11th, 2022 - My Shadowing Experience

My first attorney shadowing experience was everything I hoped it to be! I arrived at the firm as nervous as ever, hoping I would be professional, taken seriously, etc. I seriously did not want to embarrass myself. As soon as I arrived I realized there was nothing to be nervous about at all. Everyone was more than friendly, it made me wonder was I had such a strict view about firms in the first place.

I came to the attorney's office prepared with many questions, to which she gave great responses. She explained to me that she is a Defense Attorney working in the fields of Criminal and Family Law. Continuing, she said she chose those two fields because they excited her and made life interesting––this is one problem I often come across, I’m not totally sure which field of law I’m totally deadset on. The attorney also gave me advice on law school, incite into the competitive environment, and a layout of the years of law school (1L, 2L, 3L). It felt so reassuring to hear that all of my thoughts were valid and correct.

After discussing future plans and my questions she handed me two files of ongoing cases she had; one was family, one criminal. I looked through them and I was so amazed by all the annotations, the highlighting, everything! It was confirmed, that all the work I was doing as an English Major, was totally worth it for law school! For a more exciting turn of events, I went to the Pittsburgh Municipal Court, or as they call it “The Little Court.” It was here that I got to see her in action. I got to meet her client and learn about the case. I was fully immersed from the office to the court, I loved every second. What an exciting day, I’m truly so blessed to have had the experience.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page