top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Spratt

June 18th, 2022 - Why Law School?

Why law school? I have come a long way in my journey to find myself and what I'd like to do with the rest of my life. My adventure began in sophomore year, tiring to decide how the infamous Junior year was going to go, and what classes I was going to take. As I sat with my counselor, Mr. Sudol, we tried to draw up a plan. At the time I was interested in Pharmacy––as a matter of fact, I was very interested in the Pharmacy program at Duquesne. He was telling me what classes I should take, AP Chemistry, AP Physic, AP Bio, etc., but I just was not interested. I wanted to write, to read! Classes such as Creative Writing and AP Language and AP Literature ignited me. There was a serious conflict between my future and my interests.

Later, after I had decided to focus on a more English-heavy courseload, I started to think about my future again. Why English? What made me attracted to the subject? I came to the conclusion that I love to write, I love the process, the note-taking, outlines, annotation, everything! I started to think to myself, now what jobs focus heavily on the analysis and processing of text and literature? A lawyer! Of course, it was the logical answer to my problem. After doing some research I found a particularly interesting prospect, the 3+3 Law Program. It caught my interest immediately, I planned a meeting with Dr. Coopie the Director of Pre-Law at Duquesne.

It was in that meeting that I decided law was absolutely for me. I know my law school journey has not yet begun, but I cannot wait for the experience. I love a challenge,––and I almost feel like naming law school as “a challenge” is an understatement––I love to test myself and my abilities. I still have a full year of undergrad to go but I know. I’m ready.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page