top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Spratt

June 25th, 2022 - Secretary of the Pre-Law Society

I am the Pre-Law Society’s Secretary at Duquesne. This was an opportunity I never thought I would have for myself. In school, I still remember, that I was always too shy to run for class President, Vice President, Treasurer, etc. Duquesne University has changed my life, for the utmost better. My time in college has given me unknown confidence in myself. When I was nominated as Secretary, I was scared, I cannot lie. It was nerve-wracking, and I had many self-doubts. What if I was not good enough? Could I rise to the challenge? I took a deep breath and I realized, I must face my fears and run for the position.

It turned out that I had nothing to fear, I was the only candidate for the Secretary position! I wondered at the moment if others had been nominated and they too were nervous. Unlike those hypothetical nominees, I decided to face my fears. It taught me a very important lesson about life: Never live life in fear, you cannot assume certain outcomes. I assumed that if I ran I would lose. I faced my fears and put them aside. I ran away, because hey, it’s not over until it’s over.

I am so excited for the future of the Pre-Law Society! The other executives and I have so much planned for the upcoming semesters. I have spoken with the previous Secretary of the society and she has given me an ample amount of advice and guidance. One thing she strongly emphasized was attendance. Ever since the pandemic, attendance has never fully regenerated. With some exciting new plans and adjustments to society, we aim to make up for the lost number and foster connectivity and growth. I cannot wait to make an impact and help out those who are interested in law. I would especially love to guide those who are interested in the 3+3 Law Program in the right direction!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page