top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSavannah Spratt

May 28th, 2022 - The LSAT

The LSAT. As scary as it seems, it is one of the essential components of the Law School Admission process. As terrifying as it is, it is vital that I do well on the test. As I prepare for this rigorous experience, I find that, unlike the SAT or state-mandated, Keystone, the LSAT is a beast of its own. The test itself forms the test-takers mind to think and reason like the test wants you to. You must learn the test in and out to get your desired score.

The LSAT is comprised of three sections: Logical Reasoning, Logic Games, and Reading Comprehension. Each with its own challenges I have found––as a typical English Major––that Reading Comprehension is personally the easiest of the three categories. Logical Reasoning reminds me of diagramming philosophical arguments with Dr. Swindal in the first semester of my freshman year. As for Logic Games, I have never experienced anything quite like it. I am enrolled in a Logic class this upcoming Fall semester. If this LSAT does not go well, I will have to rely on the information I learn in that course to better my chances.

For my preparation, I have decided to select the "Self-Paced" option on the test preparation site, Blueprint. So far, I have found the provided instructive videos to explore playful ways to tackle difficult and complex LSAT questions. As I write this my LSAT is two weeks away, June 10th. I’m working around 2-3 hours each day to perfect my techniques and the way I tackle problems. After each study session, I am quite drained. I suggest to anyone planning to take the LSAT, start studying as soon as possible. I would say three months is a preferable amount of time. You cannot cram for this test. I repeat. You cannot cram for this test. Give yourself time and be patient. It’s a lot!




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page